Skip to content

Level 3 BTEC National Extended Diploma in IT (RQF)

  • LEVEL 3

Course Overview

If you want a future career in IT or computing then this course is an excellent starting point. The BTEC level 3 Extended Diploma is equivalent to three A levels.It covers a wide range of topics for students who have a specific career pathway that they wish to follow, as well as providing for those who are not sure which specialism they wish to pursue. The Course is designed to incorporate theoretical knowledge and understanding with practical and technical skills. Learners study the relationship between hardware and software, managing and communicating information and data and the principles of designing and developing digital technologies and processes to support organisations

You will study seven mandatory units:
• Information technology systems
•Creating systems to manage information
* Using social media in business
* Programming
*IT project management
*Cyber security and incident management
* IT service delivery

These are combined with further optional units prescribed by the curriculum team.

Course Code


End Date

Fri, 03 Jul 2026

Entry Requirements

Five GCSEs at grade 4 or above including English and Maths or a BTEC Extended Certificate L2 – Merit & a grade 4 or above in English & Maths...

Course information

2 Years

You will be assessed through exams, assignments and practical tasks.

Higher education or a career in IT

Level 3